Workplace Relations Commission

The Workplace Relations Commission (WRC) is an independent, statutory body which was established on 1st October 2015 under the Workplace Relations Act 2015 (No. 16 of 2015). It assumes the roles and functions previously carried out by the Equality Tribunal (ET), as well as the National Employment Rights Authority (NERA), Labour Relations Commission (LRC), Rights Commissioners Service (RCS), and the first-instance (Complaints and Referrals) functions of the Employment Appeals Tribunal (EAT).

The Workplace Relations Commission is the impartial forum to hear or mediate complaints of alleged discrimination under equality legislation. It is independent and quasi-judicial and its decisions and mediated settlements are legally binding. Equality legislation prohibits discrimination on 9 grounds - gender, civil status, family status, sexual orientation, religion, age, disability, race and membership of the Traveller community.

Please note:
The underpinning legislation is the Employment Equality Acts 1998 to 2011, Equal Status Acts 2000 to 2011 and the Pensions Acts 1990 to 2009.